Moving Forward

April 2009: I first started a blog on Blogger (Jen’s Losin’ It!). Do you know how much weight I’ve lost since starting that blog? NOTHING…but I’ve gained 30lbs.

April 2010: World stopped and changed forever.

April 2011: It’s ok to move forward. It’s ok to plan for the future. It’s ok to be happy again. It’s ok to take timeΒ  for me.

You may have noticed I haven’t been very consistent. At all. I find myself looking backwards instead of looking forward. It’s time I start taking care of me, before there’s nothing else left to take care of and my own kids have to deal with the grief I’ve had to deal with over losing a parent, but unlike my Dad; I’m killing myself.

When I started this blog, I did it for a new chapter in my life. To do that, I need to stop dwelling on the past. Stop looking back to how I used to be, stop comparing myself to how I was 4 years ago. Stop comparing myself to everyone else. Stop trying to be someone I’m not.Β  It’s time for a fresh start.

So, for today, this is day 1. It doesn’t matter how many times I have stopped and started on this journey before; today is day 1. Today is the day I will look back on and say “once upon a time I had a weight problem and was over 200lbs, but I conquered my weight.”

How am I going to be successful? Just like the title of my blog: one day, one meal, one choice at a time.

Posted on May 4, 2011, in 2011, Goals, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. One choice at a time – I love that. It’s so true though. When I make a healthy choice (weather it be a nutritious breakfast, commit to drinking a lot of water that day or make myself go for a run), I want to continue to be healthy. I want that choice to MATTER and not ruin it by doing something unhealthy. I’m a firm believer that healthy choices are contagious.

    I’m so excited for your new journey. Happy Day One! πŸ™‚

  2. Hey girl, you can do it! You’re more than welcome back to Mission:Slimpossible for the support and motivation, whenever you’d like. Hang in there!

  3. Praying for you Jen πŸ™‚ You can do this and you are right this is Day 1 πŸ™‚

  4. I love the title. I can honestly say before I was able to change my lifestyle I started, stopped, started, stopped and gained more weight than I ever lost more times than I’d care to remember. It’s not an easy journey, but when you commit to it you CAN and WILL do it. If you ever need anything, let me know!

  5. Holla–I love that way of thinking!

    PS-I now have the “One Day at a Time” themesong in my head!

  6. The best thing about a blog is that you don’t have to apologize for anything Jen! You blog when you feel like it. No pressure.

    Not that I should be lecturing you when I too need to stop the comparisons…

    Life is so hard!! Here’s to moving forward.

  7. You can do it. We will be there for each other. And see each other grow old. Because I can’t imagine losing you, too.

  8. Bravo Jen! Love your attitude! πŸ™‚

  9. I find that the same mantra works for me when I’m totally and completed overwhelmed with the big picture. Remembering that taking care of myself begins with small decisions that I make every minute of everyday. You can do this!

  10. I love this message, it is soo easy to feel like it is too late to do something but we are all blessed to have a chance for a fresh start EACH day… Good luck!

  11. Moving forward is a great attitude!! you can only gain from that outlook!!

  12. You can do absolutely anything. I totally believe in you. As Nike says, Just Do It!! πŸ˜€

  13. I really like your “I’m going to start NOW” attitude. That’s the important thing; so many people just say that they are going to start tomorrow, or Monday, or next week, etc. but why wait? Once again, I’m so sorry about your father but I’m glad that you are finding the strength to move on. You can do this!

  14. Yay! I can certainly feel your motivation and energy from this post!

    “One day, one meal, one choice at a time.” <-SOOOO true!!

    I love fresh starts/new beginnings! It all starts now! You can do it!

Leave a Reply

