Perfection doesn’t exist

I used to think I had to be “perfect” in order to lose weight. Eat certain foods, exercise a certain amount of time, drink a certain amount of water or it would never happen. I used to think if I “blew it” on a meal then the whole day would be a “waste” and I could always start over the next day…only the next day ever happened. If I ate too much one day, I would restrict myself so much the next day that I would end up eating way too much and binging on whatever I could get my hands on.

I have taken some intentional time off the past few weeks to re-evaluate what is going on.

Healthy food and exercise is not punishment; it’s what makes me feel good.

Eating out for a meal does not mean I have blown it.

Food does not control me.

Perfection doesn’t exist.

Do I need to lose a significant amount of weight? Yes, my health is in danger and I want it back. But, concentrating on healthy foods and working out is the way to do it. Each time I successfully complete a workout is a good day. Each choice I make is a choice to get me closer to my goals. Every day is an opportunity!

Exercise: Chalean Extreme: Burn2


Breakfast: Yogurt/Fruit parfait (unpictured); large diet coke

Lunch: Trader Joe’s Minestrone soup, english muffin with melted cheese. I tried to like this soup, but it was off. It was too sweet. I couldn’t finish it.


Dinner: Steak with Trader Joe’s BBQ Sauce and 21 Seasoning; roasted potatoes topped with Hot & Sweet mustard, my newest obsession.


Posted on April 20, 2011, in 2011, Beachbody, ChaLEAN Extreme, Exercise, Goals, Polar FT7, Trader Joe's, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I used to feel the exact same way… if something “bad” got into my mouth the day was over, might as well eat the entire kitchen. It wasnt until I made SMALL changes here and there and gradually increased them that I was able to stick with it

  2. Same here! Take tonight for example, we are going out for Thai food. In the past I would have thought well today is a waste so I may as well eat as much as I want and then would have planned on stuffing myself silly tonight. Today I have been eating like normal, worked out as planned this morning and plan on eating 1/2 of my dinner tonight and saving the other 1/2 for tomorrow’s lunch.

  3. Love how you have thought of these things. It’s so true – perfectionism is out!

  4. OMG, that mustard sounds divine!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. AHHHHHHH “Healthy food and exercise is not punishment; itโ€™s what makes me feel good.”

    THIS IS THE BEST QUOTE EVER!

  6. I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS STATEMENT AND WISH MORE PEOPLE FELT THIS WAY:
    Healthy food and exercise is not punishment; itโ€™s what makes me feel good

    Especially my in laws. They feel eating healthy is a punishment. But they don’t realize how much better they will feel!!!

  7. It’s so true – healthy food also makes you feel fantastic. It takes a bit to re-adjust your body, but once you get used to clean foods, the stuff you were eating just doesn’t taste right.

  8. I’m sure you already know that I have struggled with the same issues, and I still do! I have to start reminding myself of those things too: it is not a punishment to eat something healthy! Also, the whole “I’ve eaten a bad meal once today so the whole day is shot” mentality is something I’ve always had a problem getting past. It’s so not true! You can have a “bad” meal and then do fine at the next one. It’s just so hard sometimes; I totally get it.

  9. A few years ago, I had this strange “all or nothing” mentality. I used to believe that I’d gain if I just ate a *tiny* bit of chocolate, just because it was chocolate, regardless of what I ate overall. Very, very stupid! Now I’m much more flexible in my eats. I totally agree that perfection is nothing to aim for (although my subconsciousness still believes that ;)), and life has become much easier due to that. I believe you’re on a good way! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. the hot and sweet mustard is unreal. I love it. Great post about healthy living being a choice you want to make:) it can be so hard sometimes, but you are doing what’s good for you! keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

